Chairmen of the House Budget Committee

Rep. John Spratt



SPRATT, John McKee, Jr.a Representative from South Carolina; born in Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, N.C., November 1, 1942; graduated from York High School, York, S.C., 1960; A.B., Davidson College, Davidson, N.C., 1964; M.A., Marshall Scholar, Corpus Christi College, Oxford University, Oxford, England, 1966; LL.B., Yale Law School, New Haven, Conn., 1969; United States Army, 1969-1971; lawyer, private practice; banker; business owner; delegate, South Carolina state Democratic convention, 1972-1980; delegate, Democratic National Convention, 1964; elected as a Democrat to the Ninety-eighth and to the thirteen succeeding Congresses (January 3, 1983-January 3, 2011); unsuccessful candidate for reelection to the One Hundred Twelfth Congress in 2010; chair, Committee on the Budget (One Hundred Tenth and One Hundred Eleventh Congresses).

Chairman of the House Budget Committee:  January 4, 2007 – January 3, 2011
Congressional Biography
Portrait Information
[Back to §36. Members]


Rep. Jim Nussle


Rep. Paul D. Ryan

[BCR § 036]