Chairmen of the House Budget Committee

Rep. Martin Olav Sabo




SABO, Martin Olav, a Representative from Minnesota; born in Crosby, Divide County, N.D., February 28, 1938; graduated from Alkabo High School, Alkabo, N.D., 1955; B.A., Augsburg College, Minneapolis, Minn., 1959; graduate studies, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minn., 1960; member of the Minnesota state house of representatives, 1960-1978, minority leader, 1969-1972, speaker of the house, 1973-1978; presidential appointee on the National Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations; president, National Conference of State Legislatures; president, National Legislative Conference; elected as a Democrat to the Ninety-sixth and to the thirteen succeeding Congresses (January 3, 1979-January 3, 2007); chair, Committee on the Budget (One Hundred Third Congress); not a candidate for reelection to the One Hundred Tenth Congress in 2006; died on March 13, 2016, in Minneapolis, Minn.

Chairman of the House Budget Committee: January 3, 1993 – January 3, 1995
Congressional Biography
Portrait Information
[Back to §36. Members]


Rep. Leon Panetta


Rep. John R. Kasich

[BCR § 036]