U.S. Constitution

Article I
Section 8, Clause 17

U.S. Constitution- Legislative Department

Article I. The Congress

Section 8. Powers of Congress

Clause 1. Taxes, Common Defense, General Welfare
Clause 2. Power to Borrow Money
Clause 3. Power to Regulate Commerce
Clause 4. Naturalization and Bankruptcy
Clause 5. Coinage of Money
Clause 6. Punishment for Counterfeiting
Clause 7. Establishment of Post Office
Clause 8. Copyrights and Patents
Clause 9. Creation of Lower Courts
Clause 10. Maritime Crimes and Offenses Against the Law of Nations
Clause 11. Declarations of War
Clause 12. Raising Armies
Clause 13. The Navy
Clause 14. Rules and Regulations for Army and Navy
Clause 15. The Militia
Clause 16. Regulating the Militia
Clause 17. District of Columbia; Federal Property
Clause 18. All Laws Necessary and Proper

Clause 17. District of Columbia; Federal Property

To exercise exclusive Legislation in all Cases whatsoever, over such District (not exceeding ten Miles square) as may, by Cession of particular States, and the Acceptance of Congress, become the Seat of the Government of the United States, and to exercise like Authority over all Places purchased by the Consent of the Legislature of the State in which the Same shall be, for the Erection of Forts, Magazines, Arsenals, dock-Yards, and other needful Buildings;–And

Previous: Section 7. Legislative Process
Next: Section 9. Powers Denied to Congress







Article II