U.S. Constitution

Article I
Section 9

U.S. Constitution- Legislative Department

Article I. The Congress


Section 9. Powers Denied to Congress

Clause 1. Importation of Such Persons as States think proper to admit

The Migration or Importation of such Persons as any of the States now existing shall think proper to admit, shall not be prohibited by the Congress prior to the Year one thousand eight hundred and eight, but a Tax or duty may be imposed on such Importation, not exceeding ten dollars for each Person.

Clause 2. Writ of Habeas Corpus Suspension

The Privilege of the Writ of Habeas Corpus shall not be suspended, unless when in Cases of Rebellion or Invasion the public Safety may require it.

Clause 3. Bills of Attainder and Ex Post Facto Laws

No Bill of Attainder or ex post facto Law shall be passed.

Clause 4. Capitation or Direct Taxes

No Capitation, or other direct, Tax shall be laid, unless in Proportion to the Census or Enumeration herein before directed to be taken.

[Note: The effect of this text was revised the Sixteenth Amendment.]

Clause 5. Duties On Exports From States

No Tax or Duty shall be laid on Articles exported from any State.

Clause 6. Preference to Ports

No Preference shall be given by any Regulation of Commerce or Revenue to the Ports of one State over those of another: nor shall Vessels bound to, or from, one State, be obliged to enter, clear, or pay Duties in another.

Clause 7. Appropriations and Accounting of Public Money

No Money shall be drawn from the Treasury, but in Consequence of Appropriations made by Law; and a regular Statement and Account of the Receipts and Expenditures of all public Money shall be published from time to time.

Clause 8. Titles of Nobility; Presents

No Title of Nobility shall be granted by the United States: And no Person holding any Office of Profit or Trust under them, shall, without the Consent of the Congress, accept of any present, Emolument, Office, or Title, of any kind whatever, from any King, Prince, or foreign State.


Previous: Section 8. Powers of Congress
Next: Section 10. Powers Denied to the States




Article II